Fashion
Leave a Comment

OOTD #50/316: 50s Movie Inspired

I know! Two “Outfit of the Day” posts back to back. I am a little surprised. However, it makes sense, with this unseasonably warm February weather, one would be hard pressed not to pull out some of their best and favorite pieces.

So lately, I have been binge watching 50s classic movies on the Turner Classic Movie channel (TCM), Netflix, and from my own personal collection. In particular, the colorful musicals the era is known for such as “An American in Paris” and “The Bandwagon” – featuring Fred Astaire (one of my favorite stars of the period). Not to mention romantic-comedies like “Designing Woman” and “How to Marry a Millionaire.” And that’s not even including my collection of Audrey Hepburn movies! This, however, is nothing new to me. For those who know me personally, they are well aware that this is a regular pastime for my free time.

24354465456_a730d6e124_o

¹ The Fashion Show scene featuring Marilyn Monroe, Betty Grable, Lauren Bacall, “How to Marry a Millionaire,” 1953.

I just adore the fashion of the 1950s. I cannot help myself. Dress silhouettes were as feminine as can be, and all outfits coordinated down to the finest detail. From matching hats, to the perfect pair of gloves, and shoes in the exact same hue as the dress! The men were just as well-put-together as their female counterparts, and that for me is the selling point. There was definitely a lot of care put into ones appearance in those days. It became an art and yet a regular part of every day life. You just do not see that kind of attention to detail in appearance these days. Albeit, the downside would be the widespread uniformity of 50s fashion; it is hard not to admit that there were only a handful of styles, shapes, and silhouettes available to choose from, but that is also what makes the era’s fashion so easily identifiable.

In relation to my OOTD, the overall fit was definitely a classic 50s shape. The exaggerated, hour-glass figure all women desired to create: bust shaped and tapered by a cinched waist, just to fill back out into wide, rounded hips. My body shape is naturally suited to this silhouette, and so I find it the most complimentary to wear. Though, if I am not careful, I will recycle the look over and over again, so I try to be mindful not to fall into a rut.

Yellow Sweater – Zara // White, Faux-Leather Skirt – Zara// Belt – Anthropologie // Ankle Strap, D’ Orsay flats – DSW by BCBGeneration // Sunglasses – Urban Outfitters

 

I have several fit-and-flare skirts like the one pictured. In fact, I just featured my newest one in my last OOTD post, but I do not wear them often. They are kind of precious to me. However, today was an exceptionally sunny day, and it warranted wearing anything other than yet another pair of jeans. I chose to pair the goldenrod yellow of my sweater with the crisp white of my skirt, and then, to add an unexpected twist, I accessorized with one of my favorite belts. The beaded, giraffe detail adds an unexpected bit of whimsy to what could have been a very basic ensemble. Finally, a comfy pair of flats, but I like these in particular because the lattice detail over the toes mimic the line detail of the belt – tying things together. Plus, with the ankle strap, I feel like it is a style I would have seen in the 1950s.

What inspires your look? An era? A movie? A celebrity from then or now?

In this world, there are unlimited amounts of fashion and styling inspiration. Just keep your eyes and mind open.

Until next time my darlings.

May we all be sweetly inspired.


 

Unless otherwise stated, all images were taken by A. Reneé for  Darling Afflatus, 2016. Please do not use without permission.

¹ Photo credit: Fashion Show, Marilyn Monroe, Betty Grable, Lauren Bacall, “How to Marry a Millionaire,” 1953 via photopin (license)

Leave a Reply

