Fashion
Leave a Comment

You’re Invited: Red Carpet 2016 Style Concepts

I am very excited about this post because this is the first request I have received since launching Darling Afflatus almost a year ago! It’s an honor to know that some people out there like my writing enough to want me to write for them. In this case, The Black Tux, a company that provides an alternative to the traditional way men shop for formal events has asked that I share some of my favorites from their collection. To add to the fun, with the Oscars just around the corner (February 28th), I have been asked to use this event as the theme, and to share what I myself would love to wear alongside the handsome men in these suits. Because let’s face it, what’s a well-dressed man without a stunning woman on his arm? So, without further ado, let the red-carpet dreams begin.

Now, while women’s fashion tends to be my focus and where I feel strongest, I do follow menswear and trends as well. To get a feel for my favorite looks for men you can view and follow my Pinterest account or my men’s fashion board: Gentlemen: My Heart’s All A Flutter. However, it is not enough to go on a whim and I made it a point to do a lot of research on past red carpet trends and current predictions. Needless to say, when it boils down to the fundamentals, the best advice anyone should go with is to wear what you feel best in!

So without further ado, here are my picks for the Oscars 2016!

Look no. 1: Black & Gold, Black & Gold, Black & Gold

Familiar with the song by Sam Sparro? Well, you should be. My first pairing features the black velvet tux. I adore rich fabrics such as velvet, especially when it is in deep hues. Black velvet is not only luxurious, but its elegant and classic. For the red carpet, I would want to wear a dress that compliments the richness of the velvet, and my first thought was gold! The dress I have chosen is a gorgeous match because the silhouette is alluring, the gold is divine, and the plunging neck-line is sexy. Furthermore, I love the texture on the dress because it adds to the overall shimmer of the dress and pairs well against the velvet. Together this pairing defines Hollywood glamour, which red carpet events are known for.

Look no. 2: Guys & Gals

I will be honest, of all the suits featured this post, this one is my favorite! Personally, I am a fan of color, and I seek out opportunities to use color in unexpected ways. An easy trap to fall into with men’s fashion is to recycle the same colors in the same ways for similar events. Formal event? Black tux. Wedding? Black tux. Fancy dinner? Black tux… get my point? I love that this tuxedo is in a deep midnight blue, which is more sophisticated than its nautical cousin, navy. Now, my pick for this piece is to wear an ultra-feminine shade of pink, such as blush. The blue and pink combination pays homage to the Pantone 2016 colors of the year, and is the classic boy and girl pairing we all know. To continue the playfulness of a not-black-tux to a black-tie affair, I like the idea of this pink beaded two piece. The slit of the skirt and bare mid-drift is fun and flirty, while the gorgeous scintillating beading puts it in a league of charm all its own. I imagine the young Hollywood-It Couple of the year sporting this number down the carpet.

Look no. 3: All Black Everything

The single breasted notched lapel is a classic men’s staple. I chose this one because it is bound to make an appearance at any formal event, especially a red carpet event like the Oscars. This is because you know you can never go wrong with this time-honored, tried & true piece. It’s an elegant black, and features satin material on the lapel. With this, I imagine wearing black as well. To balance this classic look, I would go modern with my dress, such as with the sheer black number pictured above. It features a deep, plunging neckline and high-front slit, leaving just enough material in all the right places. I would insist upon cascading waves, tear drop earrings, and a bold ruby, red lip to finish the look.

Look no. 4: Eye-Spy Details

My final choice for this post is the shawl lapel tuxedo. This lapel is considered to be more casual than the notched, but has earned its way into the formal evening wear category. When I first saw this one, I immediately pictured a retro 007, James Bond film. (Sean Connery was always my favorite of the Bond line up). A vintage-style with a reputation, I thought it would be fun to find a dress that mimics this retro-Bond film vibe I am channeling. Bond was an agent who traveled the world, it would only make sense to be inspired by those travels. I came across this Chinese inspired gown and instantly fell in love. The train exudes drama, and the crimson color is sure to be a stunner. The floral details and weaving on the neckline are lovely added touches, and insist upon an updo. With my own personal Bond spy, I would not mind being a Bond girl as we make our way down that red carpet.

Well, there you have it my choices for the Oscars 2016. While I know this is only for show, I cannot help saying how much I enjoyed thinking over these looks. It was fun writing this for The Black Tux, and I highly advised you taking a look at their website for more suit rentals.

Until next time my darlings.

May we all be sweetly inspired.


Featured Image is a derivative of Velvet rope thing (De Lorean) via photopin (license)

Permission and images of all tuxedos have been provided by The Black Tuxedo. Please do not use without permission.

¹ The Francis Libiran Collection – Venus Raj by Che Rosales via flickr (license)

² The Francis Libiran Collection by Che Rosales via flickr (license)

³ The Francis Libiran Collection – Ria Bolivar by Che Rosales via flickr (license)

4 “China: Through The Looking Glass” (at the Metropolitan Museum of Art) | Fei Fei Sun (in John Galliano for Christian Dior Haute Couture – [début] Spring-Summer 1997) by Steven Meisel for “Vogue” – May, 2015 by Ŧhe ₵oincidental Ðandy via flickr (license)

Leave a Reply

