Fashion
Comments 3

OOTD#14/366: Double Denim Day

Happy New Year! It’s the first post of the year for Darling Afflatus, and I am trying something new. Normally, I am not a fan of the Outfit of The Day (OOTD) concept. I’m not sure why it has never really appealed to me. I suppose I wanted to have something more meaningful to say other than, “look at what I am wearing today.” However, there are days when I am especially fond of an outfit. I may like the look or fit or just its overall comfort. Sometimes, I throw an outfit together in a hurry, and once I can take a good look in the mirror, I am pleasantly surprised.

Lately, my style has evolved into more streamlined choices. My taste has gravitated to clean lines, simple silhouettes, subtle details, and sophisticated color combinations. Perhaps, this change is a reflection of me maturing, who knows, but my style has changed enough to get my notice. Well, it is a new year, so I will ride this wave and see where it takes me. To add to this, I have colored my hair! It is the first time I have ever dyed my hair in my entire life (I said I was a late bloomer), and I am kind of excited about it!

Anyway, today was a double denim day! Denim top with denim jeans. However, what I like to do is make sure the denims are contrasting shades of blue. That way it does not feel like a uniform. I love the top, and it was a steal at the A/W 2015 Zara sale, but it is still too chilly for short sleeves – even in L.A. – so I decided to layer it with a lightweight, long sleeve underneath. The pudding is in the details. I ADORE all things Kate Spade, and my necklace with matching earrings gave my outfit subtle, girly charm!

Short Sleeve, Denim Top – Zara // High-waist, skinny jeans – H&M //
White, Long Sleeve -Target // Booties – Aldo

bow detail

I love white. Its chic, clean, and elegant. I fell in love with this necklace and matching earrings when I saw them over the holiday. Merry Christmas to me!

Necklace & Earrings (Not Pictured) – Kate Spade New York

Until we meet again. May we all be sweetly inspired.

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: OOTD #44/322: Coming Full Circle-Skirt | Darling Afflatus

Leave a Reply

