Fashion
Leave a Comment

Casual Navy Sunday: I Dress Up for the Bookstore

Today was one of those lazy kind of Sundays where you get a late start on your day, and yet feel as if not a minute was wasted. The kind where spending the first half of the day on the sofa is perfectly acceptable. Nevertheless, the warm spring rays of the sun was much too inviting to stay inside forever, and I eventually got myself up and out the door. Though, if I’m being honest, my goal for the day was not exactly exhilarating. My one and only goal for the day was to make my way to the Barnes & Noble bookstore to make good on a gift card I won at my job’s raffle for Teacher Appreciation Week! There are some nice perks to being a teacher.

With, quite literally, perfect Springtime, Los Angeles weather a casual, breezy dress felt like the only way to go. However, I have lately been in love with my latest acquisition of a darling Kate Spade purse! Its color is bright, it pops, and its been the focus for my outfits choices all weekend. I have purposely picked more muted colors in my outfits as a way to let the vibrancy of the purse be the emphasis. This was a change for me, as I am used to going in a more colorful, pastel direction. However, I was excited about the change in color scheme, and thoroughly pleased with the outcome.

sunday-outfit

What you see here:

  • Navy, swing dress – Zara/ Note: This is a recent purchase its in stores now!
  • White Cardigan – Target
  • Straw Fedora Hat – Urban Outfitters
  • White, sneakers – Converse
  • Ring – Kate Spade New York
  • Shoulder bag – Kate Spade New York / Note: Also a recent purchase!

What I love most about this outfit is of course the bag! When I walked in to the Kate Spade store my eye was immediately drawn to the bright chartreuse color! Its a fun, vivid color that translates well into spring and will surely carry me into summer. Its size is perfect for a relaxed weekend choice. Its light and carries only what is essential. I feel as though I cannot go wrong with this purse.

Now, my overall goal was to go for a sporty meets girly look. I wanted to convey the mood I was in which was comfy, casual, and in an overall happy place! My choice in jewelry was simple, elegant, and easy with my tiny Eiffel Tower necklace and stud earrings. And to top things off (no pun intended) a straw fedora hat for a little extra fun!

My choice to wear my converse with this dress was truly a pragmatic decision. I knew I would be going to the bookstore, and I have been known to spend hours upon hours perusing the aisles for unexpected gems, even after finding the exact book I was looking for. Today was no different. After making a beeline to the manga section to get the latest volume to my current mushy-love story of choice, Kimi Ni Todoke by Karuho Shiina, I spent the next two hours simply walking from one section to the next looking at whatever titles caught my eye.

20150531_211420However, today I had the added benefit of getting to cash in my gift card! That meant I could splurge on a little extra. Ultimately, I ended up with a Blu-Ray Collection of Audrey Hepburn classics that include both Funny Face (featuring Fred Astaire) and Sabrina (featuring Humphrey Bogart). I simply adore classic movies, and I never tire of watching a love story or an Audrey Hepburn movie. I also happened across a bargain priced book of writing prompts. I consider myself a a writer, and if nothing else a writer will and must write! So, I thought a book of prompts to stimulate and challenge the creative juices would be a good choice.

All in all, today was a pleasant conclusion to the weekend! Fun outfit, good purchases, and a bookstore outing. To more vibrant days to come…

May we all be sweetly inspired.


All photos taken by A. Reneé for Darling Afflatus, 2015.

 

Leave a Reply

