Etc
Leave a Comment

Fixed, Yet Ever-Changing: Discovering Your Personality Type

For me, one of the many purposes of this life is to learn as much we possibly can. I love to learn about an array of subjects. Yet, and I think we can all agree on this, we love to learn about ourselves most of all. Its part of the reason why we are fascinated by astrology and zodiac signs. Or we gobble up tests that tell us to pick a color and see what that color reveals about your personality… something I just read up on a few days ago. Moving on…

While in college I learned about MBTI, also known as the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator. Based on the work of Carl Jung and Isabel Briggs-Myers, this tests suggest 16 different personality type combinations that reflect 4 dimensions of the personality. The dimensions have a dichotomy on which they are based. When a person has taken the test, you are given a letter for each dimension. These letters represent which side of the dichotomy you happen to fall on:

Extroverted (E) – Introverted (I)
Sensing (S) – Intuition (N)
Thinking (T) – Feeling (F)
Judging (J) – Perceiving (P)

The combination one receives of these four types is your personality type. For example, a person could be an ESFJ – that is extroverted, sensing, feeling, judging. Or one could be an INTP – introverted, intuitive, thinking, perceiving. Once you know your type, there are all sorts of webpages dedicated to discussing everything from the career paths that best fit that type, to relationships, to in-depth personality descriptions. Honestly, I find it all fascinating.

13716213084_5d7327649c

Maybe there’s a reason I’ve always enjoyed reading Plato’s “Symposium.”
See photo credit below.¹

I took the test back in college for a class. My result: INFJ, which has been described as “The Advocate” or “The Counselor“. According to the many descriptions I’ve read, it is our mission to help others. This type is one of the rarest, with only 2% of the population or so being of this type. Furthermore, I share this personality type with some pretty well-known names including: Mahatma Gandhi², Dr. M.L. King², Mother Teresa³, Plato³, and Adrien Brody³ (I have a Hollywod crush on him).

However, I’ve not only taken this test several times over the years, but I’ve also taken it on different websites. The final result? My personality has been pretty consistent. I always get the same personality type, and in a way I find that comforting.

We are all going to inevitably change over time, this is a given. We are going to go through trials, events, happy days and sad ones that will ultimately color our view of the world and influence our personalities. These influences and experiences will sometimes change us for the good, sometimes it will change us for the bad, but it will change us. This is apart of the growing and maturing process.

But there is a comfort in knowing that there is a piece of me that can and will remain stable. This me, I envision, is the me most connected to my childhood. The part of me that is most instinctual. Its the side of myself, I imagine, that is most genuine because it is the me that behaves in the most natural way. In all honesty, I like me. I like this me, and I hope that someday she will be loved and appreciated as she is. I hope she gets to know and meet many people, see many places, and experience many different things. I hope she continues to write and share her thoughts with you.

And I look forward to seeing who she will become down the road.

May we all be sweetly inspired.

Want to try the test out for yourself? Here are a few places I’ve taken the MBTI (free of charge):


Credits:
Featured Image Photo Credit: Question Mark Cookies 2 via photopin (license)
¹ Photo Credit: Plato, or as we call him in Urdu, Aflatoon via photopin (license)
² Michaela. “The World’s Rarest Personality: INFJ Type Decoded.” Introvert Spring. N.p., 19 May 2014. Web. 20 Mar. 2015.
³ Gaille, Brandon. “73 Most Famous People with INFJ Myers Briggs Personality Type.” BrandonGaille.com. N.p., 27 June 2013. Web. 20 Mar. 2015.

Leave a Reply

